February 8, 2007

Sol Azul Reposado Tequila Review

sol-azul-reposado.jpgSol Azul Premium Reposado
Aged Silver Tequila from Mexico
80 Proof (40% ABV)
Typical Price: $35 for 750ML
Website

It's no secret we like our liquors well-aged. Of course, it's a good thing we're not expected to age it ourselves - liquors in our collection don't have a very long half life to say the least. The latest pre-aged booze we've gotten our mitts on is Sol Azul Reposado Tequila - we've tasted it and re-tasted it over the last month or so, and formed a few thoughts. For starters, we have to tell you the bottle looks like something I Dream of Jeannie should pop out of. But does this bottle's contents have the magic we're looking for? Read on to find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Sol Azul Reposado Tequila Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Sol Azul Gold Tequila Review

sol-azul-gold.jpgSol Azul Gold
Mexican Tequila
80 Proof (40% ABV)
Typical Price: $12 for 1L bottle
Website

We got in our bottle of Sol Azul Gold Tequila a month ago, and you must be asking yourself "What took them so long to review it?" Well, there are some questions that have no answer, but we can say it's tied up in the story is one of our Interns spending the night in the drunk tank after too much time with a bottle of Tequila. We're over our gunshyness now though, and we're ready to talk turkey about Tequila. So was this Tequila a turkey, or was it what we were looking for?

ArrowContinue reading: "Sol Azul Gold Tequila Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 7, 2007

Review: DH Krahn Gin

DH Krahn GinDH Krahn
Ultra-Premium Gin with Juniper, Coriander, Citrus, and Ginger
80 Proof (40% ABV)
Typical Price: About $27 for 750ml
Website

Our Editor in Chief is not usually the jealous type, but sometimes we like to make him feel that little green tinge. It usually happens when someone gets to drink something he didn't get to try - especially when it's something he's heard as many good things about as DH Krahn gin.

We've been hearing nothing but positives about this stuff, and the Interns made a little wager with the EIC about whether he'd be able to try it or not. We won't share the details of the bet itself, but the Interns split the bottle and drank it all without sharing a single drop with our taskmaster. So what did we think of it?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: DH Krahn Gin"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 31, 2007

Cuca Fresca Cachaca Review

Cuca Fresca CachacasCuca Fresca Cachaca
Sugar Cane Rum Imported from Brazil
80 Proof (40% ABV)
Typical Price: About $20 per 750ml for Silver
About $25 per 750ml for Pura Gold
Website

We've been sitting on our review of Cuca Fresca for a little while, mainly just because we haven't had the time to dedicate to writing it up. We've finally gotten our acts together, and jotted down our thoughts on both the silver and gold expressions of their Cachaca. We know you've been waiting with bated breath, so go to town.

ArrowContinue reading: "Cuca Fresca Cachaca Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 25, 2007

Frisco Fish Cachaca Review

Frisco Fish Silver & GoldFrisco Fish Cachaca
Sugar Cane Rum Imported from Brazil
80 Proof (40% ABV)
Typical Price:
About $15 per 750ml for Silver
About $17 for Gold
Currently available in Texas
Website

We've really been getting into Cachaca lately, which isn't a surprise considering how much we've always liked Rum and they're sort of like distant cousins. In fact, we dig the drink so much we've even started a new Cachaca category so you can check out our coverage of this relatively new liquor to enter our lives.

The latest item on our chopping block is Frisco Fish, a triple-distilled Cachaca that is imported by a company down in Texas. It comes in two varieties - the silver, which is bottled immediately after distillation, and the gold, which is aged for at least a year in oak barrels before bottling. We're starting to see more "gold" Cachaca around lately, and we've been interested in trying them out.

As a little bonus, we've got a few ads that will put some cheesecake in your Caipirinhas; scroll to the bottom of the review to check them out. We have to say the Frisco Fish folks know how to get us interested in their product.

ArrowContinue reading: "Frisco Fish Cachaca Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 16, 2007

Oak Cross Scotch Whisky Review

Oak Cross Scotch WhiskyCompass Box Oak Cross
Malt Scotch Whisky
Imported from Scotland by WyattZier
86 Proof (43% ABV)
Typical Price: About $50 for 750ml
Website

We really and truly have dug all of the Compass Box whiskies we've tried, from the Asyla right down to the Peat Monster. We typically find them to be extremely tasty, and the company doesn't fall into the hoity toity view a lot of people have about Scotch. They seem down to earth, they make a good product, and they like to experiment - how can you go wrong?

Their latest creation we've had a chance to try is Oak Cross, so named because the barrels it's aged in are a cross between American and French oaks. Was the effort of marrying American and French worth it? We think so. Read on to find out why.

ArrowContinue reading: "Oak Cross Scotch Whisky Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

January 11, 2007

Paula's Texas Lemon Liqueur Review

Paula's Texas Lemon
Limoncello Liqueur
60 Proof (30% ABV)
Typical Price: About $24 for 750ml
Website

Paula's Texas Lemon LiqueurWay back in the olden days of 2005, we reviewed a little something called Paula's Texas Orange (PTO). It was one of our favorite orange-flavored drinks of the entire year, and made for some seriously great margaritas and cosmos for the next little while around the office - until we ran out. A few months back, we found out about a new concoction from the very same Paula, and this one is called Paula's Texas Lemon (PTL).

It's modeled on Italian limoncellos, and it tries to do for lemons what PTO did for oranges. We don't know much about limoncello, but we know from lemons. Does that pucker on our face mean we liked it, or did we feel like we ended up with a lemon? Read on to find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Paula's Texas Lemon Liqueur Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 10, 2007

The Art of the Bar Book Review

The Art of the Bar: Cocktails Inspired by the Classics
by Jeff Hollinger & Rob Schwartz
Website
Typical Price: $24.95 (Hardcover)
The Art of the Barat Amazon

Art of the Bar BookThe Liquor Snob staff has a new goal for 2007, and it's a simple one. We want to get out to San Francisco and have a drink at the Absinthe Bar and Brasserie. Why, you ask? Because that's where the two gents who wrote Art of the Bar work, and if they know this much about booze it's worth a cross-country pilgrimage to drink from the source. We're sure the food is great too, but to be honest we probably won't eat - we'll probably just pull out our copy of the book, ask them to make the drinks on page one, and keep going until we run out of money or liver cells.

In case you're having trouble figuring it out - we liked this book. Read on for details.

ArrowContinue reading: "The Art of the Bar Book Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 9, 2007

Twistee Shots Review

Twistee Shots
Vanilla Vodka Liqueur Mixed with Schnapps
30ml Shots
40 Proof (20% ABV)
Typical Price: Around $10 for 8 shots
Website

Butterscotch Twistee ShotsThere's something about a prepackaged shot that almost seems too easy. You've got this shot glass you can throw in your pocket or briefcase, and do a shot no matter where you are. It kind of makes you wonder why more liquor companies aren't doing it - seems like you could make a bundle in college towns. Anyway, there is a company that's doing the good work of offering single-serving shots with Twistee Shots.

They offer a cool chambered shot glass that has vanilla vodka liqueur on one side, and a flavored schnapps on the other. You just jank it up to you mouth and swallow, and they mix in your mouth. Pretty smart. We tried the butterscotch and strawberry varieties - read on for our thoughts.

ArrowContinue reading: "Twistee Shots Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

January 8, 2007

O2 945 Sparkling Vodka Review

O2 945 Sparkling Vodka
Grain Vodka Imported from Britain
94 Proof (47% ABV)
Typical Price: Around $35 for 750ml

Bad picture of O2 945 VodkaYou'll have to forgive our tardiness on this review - it's been quite some time since our first O2 Vodka review, and we don't really have a good excuse. We liked the original O2 quite a bit, and we've been looking forward to reviewing this one, its higher-proof sister, for quite some time. We saved our bottle for our New Year's Eve party, and after reading an article that said on New Years vodka is the second most toasted drink after champagne, we decided we wanted the best of both worlds. Not only did we get to drink vodka instead of bubbly, we got to have bubbly vodka! That's one for the record books right there. Read on for our full review of O2 945, and find out how this premium vodka fared

ArrowContinue reading: "O2 945 Sparkling Vodka Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy