May 15, 2007

80 Strong Bourbon Review

80-strong-%20bourbon.jpgWe've always liked Bourbon for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is the fact that it doesn't have the hoity toity vibe people often attribute to things like Scotch. While there are some definite high end Bourbons that'll set you back a good chunk of your rent money, we've always liked the Good Ole Boy aspects of a quintessentially Southern drink.

80 Strong, the latest Bourbon we've gotten our paws on lives right up to that expectation, and it's got the hot-looking pinup girl on the label to prove it. Read on to find out if the flavor lives up to the packaging.

ArrowContinue reading: "80 Strong Bourbon Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 2, 2007

Milagro Tequila Romance Review

We like to give the interns a chance to take a stab at writing their own reviews once in a while - it keeps their thoughts away from that mutiny they're always threatening. Our latest review is from the newest addition to our team, Intern Josh, and we'd love to hear what you think of his review of Milagro Tequila Romance.

Read his take on this two-headed monstrosity after the jump, and please feel free to add your comment and let us know if you've tried the Romance, and what you think of the review.

ArrowContinue reading: "Milagro Tequila Romance Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

April 26, 2007

Cirrus Vodka Review

A little while back we got our hands on a bottle of Cirrus Vodka, a small batch brand made down in Virginia. We haven't gotten a chance to taste it yet, and we decided today's the perfect day because of the rain falling outside...what better day to taste a vodka named after a cloud?

Read on for our thoughts and tasting notes on Cirrus - and to find out if it was a bright spot or if we felt like we'd hit a patch of bad weather.

ArrowContinue reading: "Cirrus Vodka Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 23, 2007

Jellyfish Beer Bong Review

What we'd really like to do is let the above video do the talking for how we feel about the Jellyfish Beer Bong. After all, it's in the spirit of our Thongs 'n Beer Bongs post, and as far as we're concerned a pretty lady drinking a beer bong is far better than anything we could put on the page. However, we really can't beg off like that, so see below to find out what we thought of this gizmo.

ArrowContinue reading: "Jellyfish Beer Bong Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 21, 2007

G'Vine Gin Review

G'Vine GinWe've said it before, and we'll say it again - we like the resurgence of boutique gins we're seeing right now. With a well-made gin, you can rely on your drinks to be generally on a different level than other white spirits - plus, you put it in martinis, and there's nothing wrong with that. A few sips of a good gin martini and the complexity will understand why the British used to call it "Mother's Ruin."

There's a whole laundry list of botanicals that are added to G'Vine, not the least of which is green grape flowers, along with a host of others. With so many flavors added, you can either end up with a complex drink, or a muddled mess where you can't tell what's going on. Find out what we thought below - plus find out how one of the botanicals in the drink might help clear up that embarrassing burning sensation you picked up on your last trip to Mexico.

ArrowContinue reading: "G'Vine Gin Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 20, 2007

Beleza Pura Cachaca Review

CaipirinhaA couple weeks back we got a package in the mail containing two bottles. Within these bottles were two variants of Beleza Pura Cachaca - one the straight deal, and the other a Caipirinha liqueur made with the stuff. We've heard good things about Beleza Pura, so we were fired up to give that a try, but we've had less than awesome experiences with pre-made cocktails.

So how did the two variants measure up to our expectations? Read on to find out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Beleza Pura Cachaca Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

March 8, 2007

Absinthe Clandestine & Capricieuse Review

Usually, when we think of absinthe we think of green. After all, the drink is often known as the Green Goddess, or La Fee Verte (the green fairy). We've known for a while that you could get the drink in other colors and varieties (we've even heard tell of red absinthes, though we're not sure we'd trust them), but we never really paid that much attention.

Recently it was brought to our attention that there is a whole subset of the liqueur known as "La Bleue Suisse" (or is it Suisse La Bleue?) that was made illegally in Switzerland after absinthe was banned in Europe. We've gotten our hands on two bottles of the stuff from the Artemesia Distillery in Switzerland, which apparently started production on March 1, 2005 when the drink was once again legalized in that country - though they cut their teeth as absinthe bootleggers. How cool is that?

So how do the two bottles we got - Clandestine and Capricieuse - match up to their green brethren?

ArrowContinue reading: "Absinthe Clandestine & Capricieuse Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Absinthe Duplais Review

absinthe-duplais-triplets.jpgSometimes it takes us a while to get ramped up for our absinthe-reviewing duties. It's not like we don't like the taste - we just like to make a true event out of it instead of a typical run-of-the-mill tasting. On top of that, we might sometimes have problems with flashbacks to our first run-in with it, back when we were young and stupid.

We've finally wrapped our minds around the three Absinthe Duplais bottles we got, and we've taken some time to form some thoughts about it. So how did the Blanche, Balance, and Verte line up with our expectations? And were we able to keep our ears attached to our heads? Find out below.

ArrowContinue reading: "Absinthe Duplais Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 7, 2007

BongXedo Beer Bong Review

BongXedo
Wearable Beer Bong
Typical Price: $39.99
Website

The concept of the BongXedo is pretty straightforward - it's a beer bong system you wear like a tuxedo. We were fired up to test it out, so we took it to a party this weekend with visions of turning our friends into beer-soaked guinea pigs.

When we walked into the party, however, our friends got a load of where the beer comes out of the funnels (hint: it's in the nether region of the 'Xedo) and said "No way in hell I'm drinking out of that." Now these weren't our Intern lackeys, people we could browbeat and intimidate, they were our friends...

Read on to find out if we were able to convince these fine folks to drink out of our plastic johnson though the picture kind of gives it away, eh?

ArrowContinue reading: "BongXedo Beer Bong Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 23, 2007

Maui Rum Review

Maui Rum Gold, Platinum, and DarkMaui Rum
Gold, Platinum, and Dark Rum from Hawai'i
80 Proof (40% ABV)
Website

There are some days we wish we lived in Hawai'i. Y'know, hanging out on the beach, maybe some surfing, plenty of tropical drinks. Oddly enough, this is especially true during the winter, where it's been kind of cold and rainy and, well, cold. Luckily, we were able to pipe in a little slice of the tropics over the last few days in the form of Maui Rum. We've been whipping some tropical drinks of our own (with no umbrellas...we've had enough of those this winter).

So how did our three bottles of Maui Rum compare to our hopes?

ArrowContinue reading: "Maui Rum Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Comments

Kris Schermele3 commented on Coldpole Liquor Reservoir Ski Poles: These are not the first ever poles invented for drinking on the slopes! Ta...

Brian commented on Coldpole Liquor Reservoir Ski Poles: I've heard of beer googles, but liquor poles? Brilliant!...

Sarah commented on Coldpole Liquor Reservoir Ski Poles: Fantastic! Now I just need to learn how to ski so I can be a ski-booze-bunn...


Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy