January 16, 2009

KU:L Vodka Review

Do you ever have one of those moments where everything comes together exactly, a lilting song of perfection with each piece fitting into the puzzle almost of its own accord? This is the opposite of how things went with our KU:L Vodka review. That's not to say we didn't like the stuff...quite the contrary. It was just a comedy of errors of lost notes and spacey editors that started way back in November. But you know what? We think KU:L is tasty enough and a good enough value you won't mind the wait.

Read our notes below.

ArrowContinue reading: "KU:L Vodka Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 7, 2009

MGD 64 Has Faint Beerish Taste, Consumer Reports Reveals

cr022k9upfront-beer.jpgWe understand the urge to reduce the calories in beer. We really do. No one wants to end up looking like Peter Griffin just because he likes to have a few sudsy cold ones every day, but can we keep it reasonable? Most light beers taste like someone emptied a beer bottle and filled it with cold water - do we really have to remove any more flavor?

Apparently, we do. Consumer Reports will be featuring blind taste tests of two types of beer in its February 2009 issue - two low calorie beers from Miller (MGD 64 and Miller Lite) and two chelada-like lime beers (Bud Light Lime and Miller Chill). We don't want to spoil it for you, but when Miller Lite is considered to be the "more complex and heavier-bodied" of two beers, we're all going to hell in a handbasket.

As for the lime beers, we won't color your opinions with our own (unless you're chelada curious), but apparently the lime flavor masks any actual beeriness. On the bright side, maybe they'll be the Bartles & James or Bacardi Breezers for a whole new generation of high school kids who hate the taste of beer.

Battle of the Light Beers at Consumer Reports

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 7, 2008

Tommy Guns Tequila Review

tommy_guns_tequila.jpgOur long-time readers (both of them - hi Mom and Dad) will remember our glee when we discovered Tommy Guns Vodka a couple years back. We loved the fact it came in a bottle shaped like an old-fashioned tommy gun, we loved the Al Capone-themed concept behind the company, and best of all we thought it was a damned fine liquor. Imagine our excitement when we found out the same folks also make a tequila, and they also put it in a gun-shaped bottle...but this time the bottle is red.

Will what's inside the bottle live up to our exacting standards? Will we give it a good review for fear of getting shot by Capone's cronies? Find out after the jump.

ArrowContinue reading: "Tommy Guns Tequila Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

August 4, 2008

Guest Review: Bluecoat Gin

bluecoat_gin.jpgWe haven't had too many guest reviews lately (hell, we haven't had many in-house reviews lately, but that'll change soon). Our man Kevin from over at The Scotch Blog has put together a nice little piece on Bluecoat Gin, a spirit we've heard a lot about but never had a chance to try. We're being the bigger men by not being jealous he got a bottle of the stuff...especially after his review. Check it out after the jump.

ArrowContinue reading: "Guest Review: Bluecoat Gin"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (12) | social bookmarking

July 23, 2008

Kindred Spirits 2: 2400 Liqur Reviews in One Little Book

KS2cover.jpgOK, so we're going to deal with the elephant in the room right now - we're sort of liquor nerds around here. You probably couldn't tell, but we like to drink booze, write about it, talk about it, and read about it. And today, thanks to a post at the Kegworks blog, we have found our holy book.

F. Paul Pacult's Kindred Spirits 2 is the follow-up to the groundbreaking 1997 book of spirits reviews, Kindred Spirits. Ten years later, this indispensable, comprehensive compilation of 2,400+ detailed evaluations of whiskeys, brandies, vodkas, tequilas, rums, gins, and liqueurs sets the international gold standard for distilled spirits criticism.
We can't imagine reviewing 2400 liquors without our liver exploding (mostly because we refuse to spit it out), so we will certainly be checking out this book.

Kindred Spirits 2

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 3, 2008

Boozer Hangover Remedy Review

boozer_can.jpgWe want to start off by saying we really threw ourselves into this Boozer hangover remedy review by getting ourselves seriously, seriously hung over. Many drinks were involved, of sundry types, all calculated to leach the moisture out of our cells and cause us to wake up feeling like we were hit by a truck. There was red wine. There was white wine. There was bourbon. There were sugary sweet cocktails. There was neverending vodka on the rocks. And the beers, oh sweet Jeebus the beers.

We're not telling you this to make you think drinking like that is cool - we just want you to know we're dedicated to our craft. Boozer's claim to fame is that its ingredients help you metabolize the poisons in the booze and replenish your vitamins, etc. Find out how it worked for us after the jump.

ArrowContinue reading: "Boozer Hangover Remedy Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (7) | social bookmarking

February 13, 2008

Beija Cachaca Review

beija-cachaca.jpgWe have to tell you - it's easy to get jaded when you're in the liquor review business. We're sure you wouldn't believe us, especially since we've received gallons on gallons of free hooch to sample and write about, but it can get pretty ho hum to see ANOTHER bottle of vodka or whatever show up on the doorstep. But we had an experience a few days ago that helped us shake off the cynicism and see things in a new light. It's something we should do more often anyway...we actually met the folks behind some of the liquor we planned to review.

The scene was set at the Green Street Grill (this visit renewed our love affair with the place, and we can't remember why we stopped going in the first place), and the booze was Beija, a "virgin cane rum" that's been getting some buzz in Boston. The meeting was with Kevin and Steve, the brains behind the operation, and they'd done some pretty hard work to break us from our natural homing instinct of "drink near bed." So how did the evening unfold, and more to the point, how did we like Beija?

ArrowContinue reading: "Beija Cachaca Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 24, 2008

Rio D Cachaca Review

Rio D Cachaca BottlesWe're not haters, but there are a few things we dislike intensely here at Liquor Snob. One of them is missing the chance to review some great new booze before a lot of people have had a chance to try it. Another is making mistakes. We're afraid that when it comes to Rio D Cachaca, we did both.

We received bottles of all three varieties of Rio D (plain, lime-flavored, and 'passion') way back in June of '07. Somehow through a SNAFU in the shipping and receiving department, those bottles got lost in the shuffle. (OK, you got us - we put the box somewhere stupid when we moved and didn't find them until recently)

We've finally had a chance to try them and write up our thoughts, but we have one question - did all that extra bottle aging skew the results?

ArrowContinue reading: "Rio D Cachaca Review"

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 6, 2007

Manik Tequila Blanco Review

ManikBlanco.jpgManik Blanco Tequila
Imported from Mexico
80 Proof (40% ABV)
The Company Line:

Clear and pure as the Artic Winds, has smooth and distinct softness, resulting in this icon of perfection. This premium creation is a favorite of connoisseurs of ancient traditions; a true masterpiece of sublime flavor and majestic notes.

Website
Available at Internet Wines & Spirits

Our Thoughts: When we first got our bottle (not the bottle pictured above; we just haven't had a chance to snap a shot), we were impressed with the packaging and the lack of a paper label. It was replaced instead with a stamped metal piece glued to the bottle, giving it a distinctive look.

The nose was fairly mellow and unaggressive for an unaged tequila, and we could already sense the pepperiness that was to come with our first taste. We tend to like silver tequilas because they haven't picked up the flavor of whatever they're aged in, and have a snappiness to them that can disappear during aging; Manik was no exception.

The flavor was spicy and almost reminiscent of black pepper, and while we wouldn't shoot it we enjoyed it on the rocks. The peppery taste also made for some excellent Bloody Marias (bloody marys but with tequila instead of vodka). The mouth feel was a bit thin, but the tequila had a nice long finish that kept us coming back for more.

The Verdict: We'd pick up a bottle of Manik if we were out in the liquor store looking for something a bit different, and we liked using it in more savory drinks rather than your typical sweet margarita. It made tasty margaritas as well, and with a silver tequila this tasty we'd love to try some of this company's more aged products. Recommended if you like your drinks with some south of the border heat.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 29, 2007

Corner Creek Bourbon Review

Corner Creek Reserve Bourbon Whiskey
Kentucky Whiskey made with corn, wheat, and rye
8 Years Old
88 Proof (44% ABV)
Typical Price: Mid-$20 range
The Company Line: A selection of the distillery's finest barrels. Smoothed to perfection with pure Kentucky limestone water. Full-bodied, but without any harshness.
Website
Available at Internet Wines & Spirits

Our Thoughts: The first thing that struck us about Corner Creek was the fact that everyone who saw the bottle initially thought it was a wine bottle. We thought this was interesting because the round-shouldered bottle definitely stands out from other whiskey packaging we've seen, plus we didn't mind the idea of being able to hide our bourbon in the wine rack.

When we got the bottle open, the nose was sweet and sultry with no harshness. When we tasted it straight, that sweetness carried through and we were blown away by how smooth this bourbon was. There was no hint of that harshness you get from a lot of rye in the blend, and while we usually take a drop of water in our whiskey we were fully able to enjoy Corner Creek straight.

Corner Creek had a light to medium body that fits with its deep amber color, and a sweet and smoky taste that kept us coming back for more. The finish was long and dare we say sexy, like a nice deep kiss from that special someone you didn't think was interested in you. We were immediately in love, and struck by the fact this was a refined bourbon we would recommend to any of our whiskey snobbish friends.

The Verdict: Corner Creek is a diamond in the rough, and we would expect to pay far more than the $25 or so dollars it costs for a bourbon of this quality and taste. At 88 proof and with that sweet tinge it won't burn off your tongue, and if you're anything like us you'll continually want to wrap your tongue around it. Great value, distinctive bottle, exciting taste - highly recommended for anyone looking to dip their toe into the bourbon world without spending too much.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Comments

Mike commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: I'm enjoying a glass of Tito's Handmade Vodka as this is being written and ...

Alan Bueller commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: Where can I purchase Tito's Handmade Vodka in or near Boca Raton, Fl?...

Scooterboy commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: Yo! Tito! How are ya doing these days? I remember chatting it up with you...

JJ commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: I'm half way through my first bottle of Tito's (over several days). To me i...

jeff commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: It is not possible to say anything other than how great Tito's is in respon...


Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy