June 14, 2006

44 Degrees North Vodka Review

44 Degrees North Vodka
Potato Vodka Flavored with Huckleberry
Distilled in Idaho
Typical Price: Around $30 for 750ml

I'm Your HuckleberryRemember how cool Val Kilmer was in Tombstone? His three musketeers mustache, his quick gun hand, his dapper manner? We might never be as cool as Doc Holliday [Editor's Note: We definitely won't], but thanks to 44 Degrees North, we can at least tap into our unnatural fondness for huckleberries. In fact, we've been wandering around the Liquor Snob offices for the last two days, coughing blood into a little lace handkerchief and saying "I'll be your huckleberry."

Note: We're so excited about reviewing a huckleberry vodka, we're peppering our review with quotes from Doc Holliday.

The Color: "Very cosmopolitan"
Is clear a color? Cuz that's what color it is.

The Nose: "In Vino Veritas"
44 Degrees North leads off with a berry nose, and we're not exactly sure what a huckleberry smells like, but we'll trust them that this is it. It reminded us of blueberries and didn't smell overly sweet, and there was definitely a nice, clean alcohol whiff on the back end.

The Taste: "And drunk the milk of Paradise"
This stuff was less sweet, with a more aggressive tang of alcohol than the Zygo we reviewed earlier this week. It's a more traditional vodka, and while it is sweetened with berries, they're not overpowering. Drunk straight we found it to be, for lack of a better term, brittle, but as soon as we chilled it or added ice it loosened right up. We enjoyed it as a mixer, but we found ourselves sipping this most often on the rocks where the candy-like flavor of the huckleberries was most apparent.

The Verdict: "You're a Daisy if you Do"
While Poland is the place we think of when someone says potato vodka, this is definitely a high-end entry, clean and tasty. We figure it'd make a great bottle to keep around in your ski house, so you can sip it with friends and family while wearing turtlenecks by the fire. Actually, that's not really our style - we're thinking we'll fill up our Coldpoles and enjoy a berry boost while we're on the mountain. Anyway, we definitely recommend it if you can get your hands on it - we liked it just as much or more as any other berry-flavored vodka we've sampled in our long and storied history.

Learn more and find out where to pick up a bottle at RockyMountainVodka.com.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 13, 2006

Zygo Energy Vodka Review

Zygo Peach-Flavored Vodka with Yerba Mate, Guarana, Taurine and D-Ribose
70 Proof (35% ABV)
Typical Price: $29.99 for 750ml

Zygo BottleWe've been walking on eggshells waiting for our bottle of Zygo vodka...jittery, on edge, a case of the shakes. We heard about the stuff a couple weeks ago, and it looked like the answer to our vodka prayers. A pre-mixed combination of vodka and caffeine, so we could mix it with whatever we wanted and not rely on energy drinks? Sign us up. Just add in the fact that that it's peach flavored, and it makes for an excellent addition to your breakfast regimen any day...or at least perfect for those nights when you need to stay up a few extra minutes before you pass out.

The Color: Bearable Lightness of Being
When we think of vodka, we think of a colorless, water-like liquid. Zygo offers more of a pale hue, kind of what you'd expect from a peach-flavored spirit - somewhere between the brightness of a liqueur and the clearness of vodka.

The Nose: Just Peachy
We knew going in that this stuff was flavored with peaches, but we weren't prepared for just how far into Georgia we'd be going. There was no alcoholic tang at all - straight up peaches, with a fruity smell that didn't strike us as too sweet.

The Taste: Real Peachez
When we drank it straight, it was a bit sweeter than we expected for a vodka, with a syrupy mouth feel. There was no alcohol taste to be found, really, and our first thought was that it would be great for shots, especially if chilled. That thought was reinforced when we tried it on ice, which took away some of the sweetness and made it completely sippable. All in all, the strong flavor reminded us of Orange V vodka - extremely fruity, but not overpowering, and damned tasty all around. [Editor's Note: There were a couple other flavors in there when we tasted it, but we couldn't quite place them - we've just been informed that Zygo contains "Mandarin Orange, Vanilla, and a touch of Juniper" on top of the peaches.]

The Verdict: Pretty Kickass
If we made it sound kind of wussy, with the talk of the peaches and light, don't take it wrong - we loved the stuff even though we tend toward liquors that make most people grimace (Jager anyone?). This is the kind of drink that's perfect for a long night of drinking, whether it's shots or mixing - just sweet enough for people who need it, just NOT sweet enough for everyone else. We recommend Zygo for benders that start at breakfast, rounds of shots while watching an extreme sporting event, or mixing a tasty cosmopolitan. Try to work it out so you can do all three at the same time - we imagine a fun game would be to drink half a bottle and see how long you can keep your eyes closed. OR - how about mixing peach vodka with SoCo, which is a peach bourbon? Thaaaat could make for a long night...

Check 'em out at FuelChange.com.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 13, 2006

Sambala Caipirinha Liqueur Review

Sambala Caipirinha Liqueur
Brazilian Rum and Lemon Flavored Alcopop
About 11 Proof (5.6% ABV)

Sambala CaipirinhaFor those not in the know, a caipirinha is a Brazilian cocktail typically made from Cachaca, limes, sugar, and ice. Sambala is a RTD (Ready to Drink) caipirinha cocktail, similar to something like a Smirnoff Ice or Bacardi Silver, but since it's made outside of the country, they can actually use real liquor instead of flavoring a "malt beverage." This drink is Rum-based instead of being made with Cachaca, but the use of real rum gives it at least a shot of tasting like the real drink. We don't know many details about this stuff since most of the info we can find isn't in English, but we gave it a taste and put together a few thoughts for you.

The Color: Mellow Yellow
We've usually heard of Cachaca being made with limes, but this drink is lemon-based. When poured in a glass, the look is cloudy and almost milky - it almost looks like a pale-colored lemonade.

The Nose: When Life Gives You Lemons...
...put them in a cocktail. Sambala smelled tart yet sweet, with an overwhelming waft of lemons on the nose. We didn't detect any rum smell at all, and it smelled about how we remember the smell of Mike's Hard Lemonade.

The Taste:Sweeeeeet
The first thing we thought of when we took a sip that this stuff is thick. That's the only way we can describe it. We took a sip and it coated our tongues with a syrupy, tart sweetness that was surprising at first. Sambala was actually a fair amount sweeter than the smell indicated, which isn't shocking since a major ingredient is sugar cane, and we tasted a hint of rum on the back end, but nothing overwhelming. This stuff is meant to be drunk ice cold, and we even liked it on the rocks to help thin it out a bit. We liked the lemon taste, and we're no experts, but for some reason it didn't seem quite right to have a caipirinha with anything other than limes.

The Verdict: Give it a Shot
Sambala was a bit too sweet for us, but we're not big alcopop drinkers either. If you're an RTD fan, this is something you'll probably want to give a try if you happen across it. Even if you're not a big RTD drinker, don't knock it until you try it. And hell, if you like it, pick up a bottle of Cachaca and whip up a caipirinha recipe of your own.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 9, 2006

Jack Tar Dark Rum Review

Jack Tar
Blended Dark Rum
Imported from Jamaica via South Africa
86 Proof (43% ABV)

Jack TarWe were inclined to lay off rum for a little while, especially after our Screech Rum experience, but all of the to-do about Cachaca lately has warmed up our taste buds for South American liquor. With summer coming, it's time to start thinking about frozen drinks, and rum is the building block of quite a few, including our personal favorite, the daiquiri.

We're big fans of all rums and dark rum in particular (love them Dark and Stormies), but how does Mr. Jack Tar line up against other dark rums like Gosling, Black Seal and Myers? Read on to find out.

The Color: Dark...Rum
Living up to its name, Jack Tar has a dark, molasses brown tint, reminiscent of Bourbons and other dark spirits.

The Nose: Molasses and More
The first whiff was smelled like sugar cane and brown sugar, with a slight smell of molasses. It smelled rich and complex and fruity, and didn't have too much of the alcoholic burn we associate with some lower-end rums.

The Taste: Robust
We swished it around in our mouths, and the first thought was that it was dryer than we expected. It was sweet, but not too sweet, and nowhere near as oily as we would have thought from the smell. Drunk straight, it left our tongue feeling dry and tingly, and it wasn't overwhelmingly "boozy."

The Recipes: Daiquiris Go!
We love daiquiris, and before you make fun of us, we're not talking about the strawberry-flavored ones your mom orders when you're at Applebee's. The original daiquiri was made with a shot of rum, a shot of lime juice (fresh, of course) and some simple syrup or superfine sugar, shaken over ice. They're usually made with light rum, but we mixed ours up with Jack Tar and loved the taste - we can't wait for summer.

We also liked Jack Tar on the rocks, with cola, and in Dark and Stormies (mixed with ginger ale). It made for a supremely good mixer, and we've found that rum, even dark rum, is a liquor just about everyone can agree one when you're milling around the liquor store trying to decide what to buy.

The Verdict: Thumbs Up!
We remember reading somewhere that the British Navy used to "impress" their new recruits - they'd get people drunk on rum, and throw them on ships while they were passed out. We were impressed with Jack Tar, and if left to our own devices with enough bottles of this stuff lying around, we can see how we might suffer the same fate. We wouldn't mind as long as they kept the dark rum coming.

The Site: Thar She Blows!
Learn more about Jack Tar at the Berniko site.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 27, 2006

Nouvelle Orleans Absinthe Review

Nouvelle Orleans Absinthe
Imported Swiss Absinthe
136 Proof (68% ABV)
Typical Price: 55 UK Pounds (About $96) at AbsintheOnline

Nouvelle Orleans AbsintheJust a couple weeks after our review of Verte Suisse 65, it's time for Project Absinthe Review: Phase 2 to kick in, and we're happy to say we no longer get the shakes when we think about that night. We had an amazing time drinking the Nouvelle Orleans, which is more than we can say for the unfortunate owner of the unfortunate house where we did our testing.

Sorry Liz - there will be a special area set up in heaven for you, after what you put up with.

Note: Once again, we used the Fee Verte Absinthe Evaluation System, for this tasting.

Color Before Water: Still Not Easy Being Green
The Nouvelle Orleans was very clear and extraordinarily bright, a lighter green but with less of the fine sediment we saw in our bottle of Verte Suisse.

Louche Action: We Love Louche-y
The Nouvelle Orleans presented an absolutely beautiful louche, very slow and mesmerizing as we watched the water and the absinthe duke it out and release the essential oils. The two didn't separate, but just roiled around in the glass in a way that was noted by one reviewer as "real purty."

(If you're curious about the louche, learn more at Fee Verte FAQ).

Color After Water: Great Blue Balls of Fire!
During the louche, we added two to three parts water to one part absinthe, and we did not add any sugar or light anything on fire, as some people think you're supposed to do. Nope, just good old ice water, and we were very surprised to see the color turn from bright green to a milky bluish-green. It was a nice little surprise.

Aroma: Licorice 'n Herbs
Once again, we smelled the enticing herbs-and-licorice aroma that reminded us of Jagermeister, but a Jager much higher on the food chain. the smell was complex and light, with different reviewers reporting a floral tinge, a whiff of anise, sweetness, woodiness. Everyone reported a strong smell of licorice, and everyone noted it smelled more alcoholic than did the Verte Suisse at first sniff.

Mouth-Feel: Tingly Goodness
One reviewer summed up the mouth-feel with a single word - tingly. The others reported it had a full feel, a smooth roundness, an astringent quality and a stunning complexity.

Taste: Show Me the Money!
And that's what this stuff was - money. We loved the taste, which was complex and herbal with slightly less of a licorice taste than the other absinthe we tried. It offered a very smooth drink with only a slight bit of bitterness at the back of the tongue, and overall it was less sweet.

Overall Impression: Pretty Damned Good
By the time we were done with our multiple reviewing glasses, no one on our staff seemed inclined to fill out their reviewing sheets. We did find one sheet with a smudged scrawl that said "Pretty Damned Good," and we think that sums it up.

Once again, we recommend the highly that you give absinthe a try if you're curious about it, and we know 100 bucks is a lot to spend. But hey, what the Hell? You'll be paying that much for a gallon of gas soon, so why not enjoy yourself with the money instead?

Learn more about Nouvelle Orleans at BestAbsinthe.com, and chip in to buy a bottle at Absinthe Online.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 21, 2006

Southern Comfort Whiskey Liqueur Review

Southern Comfort
Peach Flavored Whiskey Liqueur
70 or 100 Proof (35%/50% ABV)
Typical Price: Around $15 per bottle - Buy it at Internet Wines & Spirits

SoCoA few weeks back, we posted a little story about our Editor in Chief, and the not-so-fond memories he has of a run-in with Southern Comfort back in college. He remembered liking the taste, but that was the problem, and he's had trouble even seeing the bottle since then. With some coaxing and gentle ribbing (read: challenges to his manhood) we convinced him to try SoCo again. No shots this time, but he did try it both straight and mixed in drinks. So what was the verdict?

The Color:
Southern Comfort had a light amber, brownish color, that almost seems reddish when we held it up to the light. Very similar to your typcial whiskey, and the untrained eye might not be able to tell the difference.

The Nose:
Sweet and fragrant, with hints of peaches and citrus. It didn't smell overly sweet, which was a selling point for those who are concerned about how cloying the typical liqueur is. One intern said he whiffed a hint of children's chewable aspirin when he sniffed the glass, but we're pretty sure he'd already been hitting the bottle.

The Taste:
The taste of whiskey was definitely apparent, but there was a sweetness there too, which is brought by the mix of peach liqueur and fresh peaches that are added to the liqueur. It wasn't syrupy, as some had feared, and it had a tangy tartness to it. We liked it on the rocks, but it was just sweet enough that we weren't a huge fan straight. We couldn't wait to try it in a mixed drink, because as soon as we initially mentioned it, everyone and his brother had a recipe for us to try.

The Recipes:
This is where we get to the good stuff. We had onerecipe we were dying to try - the SoCo Lime. It's basically a shot of SoCo and a splash of Rose's lime juice, shaken over ice and strained into a shot glass. What'd we think? It was damned good - as good as we'd been lead to believe.

The next thing we tried was a recommendation from our contact over at SoCo - she said she likes it with club soda and a twist of lime. We liked that just fine, but we also one-upped her a bit. We mixed up a SoCo Lime shot, poured it into a rocks glass ice and all, and added club soda. We're pretty sure we've found our favorite new mixed drink.

We also mixed up the same drink with with a shot of Soco, a heavy splash of blood orange bitters, and club soda...and found our second favorite drink. As we mixed them up and tried them, we could only agree...the Editor in Chief is an idiot for giving up on a booze this good just because of some moderate to heavy vomiting.

As much as we usually drink our liquor straight, this is a booze made for mixing. We mixed it with just about everything in the house, and every drink we made tasted great. Our big surprise - mix SoCo with orange juice for a citrusy pick-me-up that puts the screwdriver to shame.

The Verdict:
We love our whiskey here, but we also like to hit the mixed drinks on occasion. Southern Comfort is the best of all worlds, because it's a whiskey (liqueur) we don't feel remotely guilty about throwing in a mixed drink. The sweetness is moderate, the flavor is delicate, and the desire to mix a second drink is high. Not for your typcial booze snob, but it's a good fun party drink, and we can't recommend it enough if you're looking for that rare liquor everyone can find a mixer for.

Oh...and what was the Editor in Chief's response? He was sheepish at first, but after he took his first swig, he was in love again for the first time. Plus, now that he's got a few years and (slightly) better judgment in him, he'll be able to drink the stuff at least quasi-responsibly, and avoid vomiting up a lung. In his own slurred words, the Comfort has been his blind spot for too long...and he's finally re-opened his eyes. Whatever that means.

The Site: Check them out at SouthernComfort.com.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (10) | social bookmarking

April 18, 2006

Michael Collins Irish Whiskey Review from Scotch Blog

Michael CollinsWe've been excited about Michael Collins Irish Whiskey for months now for a few reasons. For one, it was the brain child of of one of our idols (RIP, Mr. Frank). For two, we love Irish Whiskey - in fact, even though our Editor In Chief is Scottish, he likes the Irish better than the Scotch. Please don't tell anyone from the Highlands or he might have to return his kilt.

We haven't gotten our hands on a bottle yet, but our good friend Kevin over at The Scotch Blog has, and he posted a review of both the blended and single malt versions over at his site. Here's his roundup on the background of this interesting whiskey:

Developed by Sidney Frank with the partnership and whiskey production expertise of the Cooley Distillery, Michael Collins has been released in two versions, a Blend and a Single Malt. Michael Collins was developed for the U.S. market, but will be available at select upscale retailers as well as Duty Free in Ireland.

The whiskey is named in honor of "The Big Fellow" who spearheaded the fight for Irish independence and who was assassinated in 1922 at the age of 31. Both are bottled at 40% and aged in small oak casks to accelerate the maturation process.

Kevin's notes on both the blend and the single are quite interesting, so head on over and read the review to see what he has to say.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 14, 2006

Guest Review: Roaring 20s Cigars

Cigars!We've been thinking about offering up guest reviews for a while now, but we haven't gotten around to it until now. We realized that the perfect opportunity to do so was going to be with the Roaring 20s cigars we got in a while back...we're not big cigar smokers, but we know people who are. Now, we know the site is called "Liquor Snob" not "Cigar Snob," but we also know there are some days when there's nothing like a good smoke to go with your drink.

So, we ended up giving our good friend Jersey Jimmo a call, and he really pulled through for us. Or, he pulled something at least. We were concerned some of the review might have to be redacted in the name of good taste, but then we realized...what the hell? It's Friday. Enjoy Jersey Jimmo's review, and we hope it won't be the last.

Myeh, schee? Mugsy’s gonna rub one out

OK, folks, when I am asked to review cigars with packaging dominated by drawings of Depression-era gangsters and their Betty Boop-looking floozies whose enormous nipples are visible through their sheer nighties, I think to myself, “Oh boy, porn meets cigars, this can’t be good.” I mean, it’s not often I’m handed a cigar box with a label that could inspire some morally bankrupt, pathetically desperate loser to wank.

After I pulled my pants up and put the KY away, I lit one. Whatever doubts I had were quickly dispelled after a few puffs; this was a serious, well-made cigar. Of course this realization didn’t stop me from striking a few gangster poses, holding an imaginary Tommy gun, and saying aloud, “Myeh, schee? Mugsy just rubbed one out, schee?” Hand rolled (with a “heart-on,” the labels claim) in the Dominican Republic, the larger “Churchhill” sized cigars come in four varieties with the major difference between them being the wrapper leaf, Indonesian (Untouchables), Ecuador (Gangsters), Sumatran (Godfathers), or Connecticut shade (Classics).

After sampling one of each, I can truthfully say all of them pull well, distinguish themselves from each other with noticeable and pleasant tastes, and stay lit. The smaller, cigarette-sized Bootlegger Sweeties come with natural as well as added flavoring, amaretto, vanilla, or rum. These also pull well and the flavoring is thankfully subtle. However, the shredded tobacco filler was a disappointment, and like many small cigars they do not stay lit for very long.

Mild yet flavorful, Speakeasies will appeal to both the gangster upstart, longing for a taste of Al Capone fame for an evening, and the kingpin connoisseur, seeking to add variety to his humidor, or to celebrate the variety of dead stool pigeons in the trunk of his Packard.

Oh, and if you get your hands on some cigars (at Al-Capone.com, for example) and want to strike some gangster poses of your own, we recommend getting some Tommy Guns Vodka to go with them...it's one of our favorite vodkas, and it comes in a bottle shaped like a gun. We've found it's perfect for running around pretending to be a gangster. Just ask our interns...

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 4, 2006

Verte Suisse 65 Absinthe Review

Jade Liqueurs Verte Suisse 65
Imported Swiss Absinthe
130 Proof (65% ABV)
Typical Price: 55 UK Pounds (About $96) at AbsintheOnline

Verte Suisse 65Here we go - after weeks of intense therapy and detox, we've finally put enough space between ourselves and our absinthe tasting to actually go ahead and review the stuff. It should be said that we loved the taste of both absinthes we tried, which was what partially led to our downfall. After we each had multiple glasses, we all reverted to our lizard brains, and suddenly we were treating the stuff like it was Bacardi Breezers instead of a high-alcohol controlled substance.

You'll notice we used a slightly different format for the review below - in order to make everything official, we used the Fee Verte Absinthe Evaluation System, which included multiple categories and guidelines for tasting. You'll also find that we didn't use the number system associated with it, after our diatribe last week about the booze review numbers game. And so, enough with the pre-game - let's get on with the show.

Color Before Water:It's Not Easy Being Green
The guidelines say the absinthe should be clear, bright and natural looking, and we found the Verte Suisse to be all three. There was a very slight, extra-fine sediment when we held it to the light, which gave it the slightest haze. One reviewer said the color reminded him of cholorophyll, and that was even before he started drinking.

Louche Action: Lord and Lady Louche Bag
Since we reviewed the Verte Suisse first, it was the first louche we've ever seen (and if you need a definition like we did, we found it in the Fee Verte FAQ). It was beautiful, watching the natural oils separate from the alcohol and swirl their way into bloom. The beauty of the louche was one factor that inspired us to pour far too many glasses.

Color After Water:The Forecast is Cloudy and Drunk
During the louche, we added two to three parts water to one part absinthe. This changed and color immensely, from a bright, clear green to a translucent, almost milky color with a green tinge. According to our reading, the desired effect is complexity and nuance, and our reviewers agreed that if a liquid could look complex, this did.

Aroma: Good...and Plenty?
We checked the nose before and after the addition of water, and we were surprised at the change after the addition of such a neutral liquid. Before water, it smelled like anise and licorice, almost like Sambuca mixed with Good N Plenty, but in an amazingly appetizing way. The smell was herbal, almost like a long-lost royal cousin of our good friend Jagermeister. After the addition of water the aroma mellowed quite a bit and seemed to sweeten, and the general feeling was that the smell was complex and pleasant.

Mouth-Feel: THAT'S What We're Talking About
After the anticipation of the louching and the sniffing, we were finally ready to taste it. We took our first sips and swirled them around in our mouths, and were pleasantly surprised with a complex and tingly feeling, not the burn we expected from a drink that contains so much alcohol. The verdict was that it was thick and rich, and oily in a good way, and one reviewer noted that it was "like God's cough syrup," whatever that means.

Taste: Hemingwonderful!
We've long heard that Old Papa Hemingway was a fan of absinthe, and after our first sip we understood why. It was exciting, like only a 130 proof illicit liqueur can be. It reminded us of smoky cafe's on the French Riviera, and beautiful girls dancing the Can Can on our tongues...but not in a dirty way. The taste was mellow and smooth, with a licorice complexity and just enough sweetness - and as odd as may sound, it was refreshing and invigorating as well.

Overall Impression: GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAL!!
According to our score sheet, the drink should be refreshing, subtle, complex and harmonious. We found it to be all that and more. In the words of one of our reviewers, "My tongue is numb, but it's a damn good numb," and we think that about sums it up.

If you want to try absinthe, we recommend the Verte Suisse 65 highly, and while 100 bones might seem like a lot to shell out for a bottle of liquor, we can say from experience that you don't need very much to feel its effects, and if you can get a few of your friends to go in on it with you, we think you'll have a damn good time...as long as you're more careful than we were.

Learn more about Verte Suisse 65 at BestAbsinthe.com, and chip in to buy a bottle at Absinthe Online.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 12, 2006

Killepitsch Herbal Liqueur Review

Killepitsch
German Herbal Liqueur
84 Proof (42% ABV)
Buy it at Internet Wines and Spirits

Killepitsch LiqueurWe've said more than once on this site that Jagermeister is the liqueur of choice around the office. We love the dark color, badass reputaiton and grimace-inducing flavor, plus the fact that it gives us a completely different kind of buzz than any other booze is a selling point as well. We've never reviewed Jager on this site, mostly because once we start drinking it we don't stop, and it's tough to write a review while blacked out. We recently got our hands on a bottle of Killepitsch, a similar herbal liqueur made in Dusseldorf, Germany, that was touted as giving Jager a run for its money. We were skeptical, but we were ready to give it a try.

The Color:
The color was dark brown, almost black, with a reddish tint, and it left a syrupy coating on the glass.

The Nose:
The label says Killepitsch contains 90 fruits, berries and herbs, and we would say that sounds about right. When we smelled it, it was complex and strong, with a heavy tinge of anise, giving it a licorice smell. We also detected a lot of gentian, the stuff that gives Angostura bitters and Moxie soda their taste. A mixture of Moxie, bitters and Jager? We must've died and gone to drunk heaven.

The Taste:
Thick and syrupy, this stuff was sweet up front with a bitter, dry aftertaste. Licorice, anise, gentian, mint, root beer, Moxie - there were so many flavors, it was almost overwhelming, but the Jager comparison definitely fit. Overall, Killepitsch seemed sweeter and thicker than Jager, but both had the same aggressive, take no prisoners flavor, if that makes any sense. Someone who drinks Jager a lot will be able to tell the difference, but the typical drinker won't - and if you hate the nectar that is the 'Meister, you'll hate this stuff too.

The Recipes:
We liked it on the rocks, but it seemed like a pretty damned good substitute in a Jager Bomb, if you're in a pinch or just want to try something new.

The Verdict:
Definitely in the running to enter our regular rotation, this stuff was like a doppleganger of Jager (that's a little shout-out to all you D&D players in the house). We liked this one a lot, especially chilled or on the rocks. Plus, it's stronger than Jager (84 proof, as compared to 70), so the blackouts will come even more quickly!

The Site:Learn more about Killepitsch at OurNiche.com.

Jake Jamieson at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Comments

Mike commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: I'm enjoying a glass of Tito's Handmade Vodka as this is being written and ...

Alan Bueller commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: Where can I purchase Tito's Handmade Vodka in or near Boca Raton, Fl?...

Scooterboy commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: Yo! Tito! How are ya doing these days? I remember chatting it up with you...

JJ commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: I'm half way through my first bottle of Tito's (over several days). To me i...

jeff commented on Tito's Handmade Vodka Review: It is not possible to say anything other than how great Tito's is in respon...


Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy